Skip to content

Las Vegas Under Age DUI Lawyers

Las Vegas under age DUI lawyersUnder Age DUI Defense Las Vegas

It is against the law for individuals under the age of 21 to drive in Nevada with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02% or greater. If someone under the age of 21 is arrested driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, they are subject to driver’s license suspension, criminal prosecution and the possibility of school suspension. Please call our Las Vegas under age DUI lawyers today to discuss your rights and how to protect them.

Juvenile DUI Penalties In Nevada

A first-time DUI offense within 7 years is a misdemeanor offense; the penalties for a first-time offense include:

  • Participation in an education course on alcohol and drug abuse (completed within a specified period)
  • From 2 to 6 days in jail or 48 to 96 hours of community service
  • A fine ranging from $400 to $1,00
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Chemical test fee $60
  • DUI School or treatment for substance abuse
  • Attend victim impact panel
  • License revocation for 90 days
  • $120 driver’s license reinstatement fee
  • SR-22 certificate of liability insurance required for 3 years

Under Nevada’s implied consent law drivers cannot refuse a blood, breath or urine test. Any person driving or in “actual physical control” of a vehicle is deemed to have given their consent to a blood or breath test. If you refuse, then the police have grounds to make an arrest and law enforcement may use reasonable force against you to obtain a blood sample. If you are facing this situation or any other criminal charge, drug charge or DUI charge please call our Las Vegas under age DUI defense lawyers immediately.

Consequences Of A Nevada Under Age DUI:

A record for a juvenile DUI arrest or conviction will remain on your criminal record for life. If you are convicted of felony DUI then any future or subsequent DUI arrests will be prosecuted as felonies. As a young adult, you don’t want to overlook the fact that if you are convicted of DUI, you may be required to disclose the conviction on college applications, job applications and some requests for financial aid.

If you fail to report this information it can result in the loss of financial aid and other rights and can result in charges of perjury if discovered. Furthermore, some insurance companies will terminate your insurance policy if you are convicted of an underage DUI or they may refuse to renew your policy. You can also likely expect your insurance premiums to increase by $100 to $200 each month if not more. If you have been arrested for an underage DUI, I urge you to contact our Las Vegas under age DUI lawyers to learn what our Las Vegas juvenile DUI defense attorneys can do to fight your Nevada DUI charges.